Our license server has a list of client PCs for your license. When the license is created, this list is empty.
When you start the simulator on the first PC using your account a hardware fingerprint is sent to the license server. This fingerprint is created from information such as the computer's MAC address etc. This fingerprint along with the calling IP address is stored in the client list. For version 188.8.131.52 and later, the Windows PC name is also stored in the list for easier identification on the customer side.
If your license has for example 25 seats, the list is allowed to grow up to 25 items long. When you are trying to start the program on PC number 26 it will be denied with a message saying "Too many clients started".
When changing hardware in a PC the fingerprint may change. We understand this and that PCs get replaced, break, etc. We also understand the need to move licenses around from time to time. We, therefore, allow customers to reset the list up to four times a year by sending a reset request to support.
Customers can also ask to see the list at any time by emailing support.
A reset of the client's list means that all items in the list will be deleted and forgotten. After a reset, you are free to start on any 25 (in this example) computers until the list is full again.
To avoid losing control of the seats, we recommend that you do a start on all client PCs directly after a reset to lock the license to those PCs.
We provide two different ways your PCs can be identified to us.
The default way is that you enter a license key that will be stored on the computer and that will help us know who you are and what license the PC is connected to. You need to enter this key on each machine.
The other way is that we provide you with a license key file that should be put in the installation folder on each machine. This method makes it easier to make a "master installation" that can be installed on a shared network folder or distributed to all computers via the network or a disk, USB stick, or another medium. Using this method, users do not need to enter a license key.